Masonic Temple

Masonic Temple

On June 2, 1908, the First Universalist Society of Westfield deeded to the Massachusetts Universalist Convention of Boston its property situated on Elm and Chapel streets. On July 15, 1908, the Westfield Masonic Association purchased this very desirable corner location, including the church building, organ, motor, heating apparatus, and gas fixtures. The association remodeled the building ans has one of the best equipped Masonic temples in the state.

The Exercises of Dedication of the Masonic Temple were as follows: Mount Moriah Lodge, A. F. & A. M., was held Wednesday afternoon, September 15, 1909, at 3:30 o'clock, Wor. Master Harris B. Moulton. Evening Star Royal Arch Chapter was held Thursday evening, September 16, 1909, at 7:30 o'clock, Charles B. Wilson, M. E. High Priest. Golden Chapter, No. 5, Order Eastern Star, was held Friday evening, September 17, 1909, at 7 o'clock, Mrs. Alice W. Winslow, Worthy Matron. Westfield Council Royal and Select Masteries in 1914 under Special Dispensation was added to the list of Masonic bodies meeting in the Temple.

It might be of historic interest to note that the father of Wm. H. Farnsworth, oldest Past Master of Mount Moriah Lodge, A. F. & A. M., a Universalist minister, dug the first spadeful of dirt for the erection of the church building now used as the Masonic Temple.

Westfield Masonic Association. President, Charles B. Wilson; Clerk, William E. Gibbs; Treasurer, Carl E. Welcome; Directors, Thomas J. Cooley, George L. Gaylord.

Mount Moriah Lodge, A. F. & A. M. Instituted February 12, 1856. W. M., James C. Taylor; S. W., Frank N. Strickland; J. W., Malcolm B. Harding; Treasurer, George L. Gaylord; Secretary, Carl E. W. Welcome.

Evening Star R. A. Chapter. Instituted June 8, 1871. M. E. H. P., Alvin L. Peabody; King, H. St. C. Duncan; Scribe. Edward E. Mayor; Treasurer, Edwin C. Cotton; Secretary, Ward Rees.

Westfield Council R. and S. M. Instituted 1915. T. I. M., Charles B. Wilson, Deputy Master, Frank N. Strickland; P. C. of W., William E. Gibbs; Treasurer, Carl E. W. Welcome; Recorder, James C. Taylor.

Golden Chapter, No. 5, Order of Eastern Star. Organized in 1873. W. M., Mrs. Ermina A. Pratt; W. P., George E. Pratt; A. M., Mrs. Mabelle F. Hossmer; Secretary, Mrs. Effie M. Carson; Treasurer, Edith M. Robbins.

| Previous Page | Next Page |

| 250th Anniv. Program Home | 250th Anniv. Program Contents |
| Westfield Page | Hampden County History & Genealogy |

These pages are © Laurel O'Donnell, 2000 - 2005, all rights reserved
Copying these pages without written permission for the purpose of republishing
in print or electronic format is strictly forbidden
This page was last updated on 22 Jul 2005